Hwy 37A, 38 miles from junction with Stewart-Cassiar Hwy 37 at Meziadin Junction. Stewart lies directly across the BC and Alaska border from Hyder, AK. Population: 700. Visitor Information: Stewart and Hyder International Chamber of Commerce, 222-5th Avenue (Main Street), PO Box 306, Stewart, BC V0T 1W0; Phone: (250) 636-9224, Toll Free: (888) 366-5999; Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Stewart enjoys a spectacular physical setting at the end of the 90-mile long Portland Canal finger of the Pacific Ocean, opposite Alaska’s Misty Fiords National Park, amid glaciers, ice fields and waterfalls. The area offers unsurpassed opportunities for numerous recreational pursuits, including fresh and saltwater fishing, sailing, hiking, cross country skiing and year round snowmobiling, made possible by the mild Maritime climate and an average snow fall of 30 feet. There are several campgrounds in the Stewart/Hyder area and a variety of maintained hiking trails, many leading to historic gold and silver mining sites.
Chum and Pink salmon spawn in nearby Fish Creek, where grizzly and bald eagle feed heavily in July to September. The Portland Canal, frequented by otters, seals, dolphins, and the occasional pod of Killer Whales, yields halibut, Coho and 50-pound King Salmon. King crab and prawn can be caught right off the docks.
Bear Glacier, the largest of the ice tongues of the renowned Cambria Icefields, comes into view about halfway along Hwy 37A, 18 miles before arriving in Stewart. This roadside glacier will take the visitor’s breath away with its beauty and intense blue color. One of the few blue glaciers in the world, it is the most easily accessed, with a roadside pull off to photograph this astounding masterwork of Nature. The Salmon Glacier, accessed out of Hyder, is the fifth largest glacier in the world. A 25-mile drive follows the Salmon River to its birthplace within the glacier, with stunning views looking down on the immense river of ice winding through the valley.
Prior to white settlement, the head of the Portland Canal was known to the Nass River Indians as Skam-A-Kounst, or safe place, referring to the site as a retreat from the harassment of coastal Haida. Although the Nass came seasonally to hunt birds and pick berries, little evidence of their presence remains.
Amid rumors that regional gold deposits rivaled those of the Klondike, 68 prospectors arrived in the Stewart area in 1898. Officially founded seven years later by the Scottish brothers John and Robert Stewart, the town boomed to 10,000 people at the height of the Gold Rush, with many restored buildings dating from that era. Hundreds of the pilings which supported boom period structures are visible in the tidal flats. Mining activity ceased by 1956, with the exception of the Granduc Mine, which operated until 1984.
The Stewart Historical Museum provides an overview of the area’s fascinating history as well as great movie props from the Hollywood movies filmed in and around the town. Housed in a 1912 Fire Hall, the Museum is open May to September and located just a few blocks off the main street at 603 Columbia Street. And in celebration of a century of electro-magnetic ingenuity, Stewart boasts its very own - Toaster Museum! The Toastworks Museum is located right on Main Street.
Stewart’s recreation center houses hockey and curling facilities and the town holds several baseball tournaments through the summer. Golfers may test their skill at the Mount Rainy Driving Range, situated beside the Bear River and tennis courts are located in Rainy Creek Park. Stewart and Hyder host International Days July 1st to 4th every year, providing many fun filled activities including parades and pancake breakfasts, children’s games and scavenger hunt, a slo-pitch tournament and fireworks on the 4th of July. The two towns also work together on the International Rodeo held on the second weekend in June.